YSU awards raises to part-time faculty | News, Sports, Jobs

YOUNGSTOWN — For the first time in nearly 30 years, many part-time faculty members at Youngstown State University will receive pay increases of more than 2 percent, starting this semester.

Holders of a doctorate or doctorate in law will see a 2.4% increase, Brien Smith, provost and vice president of academic affairs, announced on Monday.

In addition, part-time employees with master’s degrees will receive 2.5% raises and faculty with bachelor’s degrees or equivalent qualifications will receive 2.3% raises, Smith noted.

Also on Monday, the provost announced the addition of five new associate deans who will assist college deans with various administrative tasks, as well as answer administrative and operational questions or challenges. The five are:

• Joy C, Erb, Cliffe College of Creative Arts;

• Carol Lamb, Acting Associate Dean, College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics;

• Sara Michaliszyn, College of Health and Social Services of Bitonte;

• Alan Tomhave, Beeghly College of Liberal Arts, Social Sciences and Education;

• Christina Saenger, Williamson College of Business Administration.

The university also hired 19 new faculty members, starting this semester, Smith noted.

They are:

• Sabrina Cali, health professions;

• Jeong Hoon Choi, marketing and management;

• John DeSantis, Rayen School of Engineering;

• David Frank, psychological sciences and consulting;

• Dessalegn Guyo, social work;

• Adam Howard, Dana School of Music and University Theatre;

• Bilal Kalkan, psychological sciences and consulting;

• Sarah Marotti, Centofanti School of Nursing;

• Shareece Mashika, Centofanti School of Nursing;

• Christopher Mela, Rayen School of Engineering;

• Stephan Moldovan, Rayen School of Engineering;

• Charles Morgan, social work;

• Saleem Ramadan, Rayen School of Engineering;

• Rodney Rock, education and leadership studies;

• Ghassan Salim, Rayen engineering school;

• Li “Linda” Sui, chemical and biological sciences;

• Charles Vandyke, criminal justice and consumer sciences;

• Jennifer Walker, Centofanti School of Nursing;

• Rongyao Zhang, accounting and finance.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Leave a Reply