YSU and KSU participate in the project | News, Sports, Jobs

Youngstown State and Kent State universities are among 80 Ohio higher education institutions included in eight proposals to which Intel will award $17.7 million over the next three years to develop education and workforce programs. -workplaces focused on semiconductors.

Intel announced the investment — the initial phase of its $50 million commitment to colleges and universities across the state — ahead of groundbreaking Friday on the future site of the advanced computer chip facility. $20 billion tech giant in New Albany.

YSU will partner with 10 other northeast Ohio colleges and universities to offer training programs in automation, robotics, microelectronics, and semiconductor processing to help students gain the skills needed to support the semiconductor manufacturing and equipment operations.

Lorain County Community College is the lead institution for the collaboration which also includes Ashland University, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, Cuyahoga Community College, Kent State University, Lakeland Community College, ‘Ohio Dominican University, Stark State College and the University of Toledo. .

The investment will fund eight collaborative proposals led by the University of Cincinnati, Central State University, Columbus State Community College, Kent State University, Lorain County Community College, Ohio University and two from Ohio State University .

Kent State will lead a network of 13 other colleges and universities “to prepare the workforce to manufacture the small electronic devices that play an important role in our daily lives”, depending on the university.

The coalition also includes all seven branches of KSU, including Kent State University at Trumbull in Champion.

“Kent State is well positioned to meet Intel’s charge to help the region and the country address key technology challenges, such as meeting demand for semiconductors,” said KSU President Todd Diacon. “This grant provides us with an excellent opportunity to empower this network of academic institutions to lead the future of microelectronics in a way that tangibly advances the workforce.”

The proposal will expand facility equipment and virtual and augmented reality learning across a range of programs for manufacturing technicians, entry-level engineers and advanced manufacturing degrees.

Contributors include Baldwin Wallace University, Cuyahoga Community College, Hiram College, John Carroll University, Lake Erie College, Lakeland Community College, Lorain County Community College, Malone University, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Muskingum University, Notre Dame College, Walsh University, and Wilberforce . University

Using a three-year, $1.1 million grant from Intel, Kent State will lead the group’s attention through its foundation of facilities, including a clean room for research and teaching on the Kent campus.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Leave a Reply