You are currently viewing How Canada’s New NOC Will Affect Express Entry Eligibility

How Canada’s New NOC Will Affect Express Entry Eligibility

Posted May 28, 2022 8:00 a.m. EDT

Details of how the updated National Occupational Classification (NOC) system will affect Express Entry eligibility have been released.

NOC 2021 will come into effect in November 2022. A total of 16 occupations will become eligible for Express Entry, and three will become ineligible, according to an internal briefing note.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) currently uses NOC 2016 to determine the eligibility of occupations under its temporary and permanent resident programs. However, IRCC must switch to NOC 2021 from November, according to Canadian law.

Find out if you qualify for Canadian immigration

The NOC is managed by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) and Statistics Canada, which revise the system every 10 years. NOC 2021 will introduce new terminology and a revised classification structure that will affect IRCC’s programs.

As a result of these changes, the following 16 occupations will become eligible for Express Entry:

  • payroll administrators;
  • dental assistants and dental laboratory assistants;
  • Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service attendants;
  • Pharmacy technical assistants and pharmacy assistants;
  • elementary and secondary teaching assistants;
  • Sheriffs and Bailiffs;
  • Corrections officers;
  • Law enforcement and other regulatory officials;
  • Beauticians, electrologists and related personnel;
  • Residential and commercial installers and repairers;
  • Pest controllers and fumigators;
  • Other repairers and repairers;
  • Transport truck drivers;
  • Bus drivers, metro operators and other public transport operators;
  • heavy equipment operators; and
  • Aircraft assemblers and aircraft assembly inspectors.

There will also be three professions that will become ineligible, including:

  • other performers;
  • recreation, sports and fitness program leaders and instructors; and
  • tailors, dressmakers, furriers and milliners.

These three professions will remain eligible for programs with broader occupational eligibility criteria, such as some components of the Provincial Nominee Program.

The main change to NOC 2021 is that the current four-category “skill level” structure has been revised and replaced with a new six-category system. The new system describes the level of training, education, experience and responsibility (TEER) required to enter each occupation.

The previous NOC had four skill levels. NOC A represented jobs that tend to require university degrees, NOC B comprised jobs in the skilled trades or requiring a college degree, NOC C covered jobs that required intermediate skills or job-specific training , and NOC D was for jobs that require on-the-job training.

In September 2020, the IRCC Executive Committee decided that the new TEER structure would be adopted as follows:

NOC 2016 NOC 2021
Skill type 0 TEER 0
Skill Level A TEER 1
Skill Level B TEER 2
Skill Level B TEER 3
Skill Level C TEER 4
Skill Level D TEER 5

NOC 2021 will use a five-level hierarchical system to classify occupations. Additionally, professions will now have a five-digit coding system instead of the current four-digit system. The TEER system has six categories, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

  • University degree (bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate); Where
  • Several years of experience in a specific TEER Category 2 occupation (if applicable).
  • Completion of a two- to three-year post-secondary program at a community college, institute of technology, or CEGEP; Where
  • Completion of a two to five year apprenticeship training program; Where
  • Professions involving significant supervisory or safety responsibilities (police and firefighters); Where
  • Several years of experience in a specific profession of category TEER 3 (if applicable).
  • Have completed a post-secondary program of less than two years at a community college, institute of technology or CEGEP; Where
  • Apprenticeship training of less than 2 years; Where
  • More than six months of on-the-job training, training courses or specific work experience with partial high school education; Where
  • Several years of experience in a specific profession of category TEER 4 (if applicable).
  • High school diploma; Where
  • Several weeks of on-the-job training with some high school education; Where
  • Several years of experience in a specific profession of category TEER 5 (if applicable).
  • Short working demonstration and no formal training requirements.

Statistics Canada explains that there are two main reasons why the skill type model is being replaced by the TEER system. First, the TEER system aims to provide more clarity on the level of education and work experience required to practice a profession. Second, the skill type model creates artificial categorizations between low-skilled and high-skilled jobs. The implementation of TEER aims to give stakeholders a better idea of ​​the skills required for each profession.

This tool from Statistics Canada allows you to see how your current NOC corresponds to NOC 2021.

Find out if you qualify for Canadian immigration

© CIC News All rights reserved. Visit to discover your options for immigrating to Canada.

Leave a Reply